Skip to main content

Desktop Client: Enterprise Model warning when adding IGX file to repository

Problem​

When adding an IGX file to your repository, or when working with multiple repositories, you might get a warning stating that "This document is already linked to the enterprise model in a repository".

This article explains what this means and some of the side effects moving an IGX file to a different repository might have.

image2022-4-15_14-34-41.png

Solution​

When an IGX document is first added to any repository (saving the IGX document only ever on your hard drive does not have the same effect), it is imprinted with a unique identifier, so that the document and repository can reference each others content. This includes usage of the repository-wide resource- and enterprise model, as well as some other repository-specific functionality.

Since it is not possible to have one IGX document belong to more than one repository, this warning message on checkin/adding makes you aware that certain types of links will be removed when proceeding. Following is a non-exhaustive list of document- and diagram level attributes that may be removed when pressing OK and proceeding

  1. Describes-relationships at the Diagram- and Shape level
  2. Repository Links on Shapes and Fields
  3. Repository-level custom property values